The members of Estimates Commitee are

8 mins read

Q451. The members of Estimates Commitee are
(a) elected from Lok Sabha only
(b) elected from Rajya Sabha only
(c) elected from both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
(d) nominated by the Speaker of the Lok Sabha
Ans: (a)
Q452. No Government Expenditure can be incurred in India except with the sanction of
(a) the Parliament
(b) the Prime Minister
(c) the President
(d) the Supreme Court
Ans: (a)
Q453. The Union Parliament consists of
(a) The President of India
(b) The Council of States (Rajya Sabha)
(c) The House of the People
(Lok Sabha)
(d) All of the above
Ans: (d)
Q454. The Indian Parl iament is competent to enact law on a State subject if
(a) emergency under Article 352 is in operation
(b) all the state Assemblies of the country make such a request
(c) the President sends such a message to Parliament
(d) None of these
Ans: (a)
Q455. A Bill referred to a ‘Joint Sitting’ of the two Houses of the Parliament is required to be passed by
(a) a simple majority of the members present
(b) absolute majority of the total membership
(c) rd majority of the members present
(d) th majority of the members present
Ans: (a)
Q456. In case the President wishes to resign, to whom he is to address his resignation letter ?
(a) Chief Justice of India
(b) Secretary of Lok Sabha
(c) Vice-President
(d) Prime Minister
Ans: (c)
Q457. Although Union List, State List and Concurrent List cover the entire legislative business, yet there may be an item not mentioned anywhere. Who will legislate on that item ?
(a) Parliament only
(b) State Legislature only
(c) Both (a) and (b)
(d) Neither (a) nor (b)
Ans: (a)
Q458. Which of the following appointments is not made by the President of India ?
(a) Speaker of the Lok Sabha
(b) Chief Justice of India
(c) Chief of Air Staff
(d) Chief of Army
Ans: (a)
Q459. Who held the office of the Vice-
President of India for two consecutive terms ?
(a) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
(b) Mr. R. Venkataraman
(c) Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma
(d) Mr. V.V. Giri
Ans: (a)
Q460. Which is not an All India Service ?
(a) Indian Administration Service
(b) Indian Police Service
(c) Indian Foreign Service
(d) Indian Forest Service
Ans: (c)
Q461. Who can initiate impeachment of the President ?
(a) 1/4th members of either House of Parliament
(b) Half of the members of either House of Parliament
(c) Half of the State Legislatures
(d) 1/3rd members of any State Legislature
Ans: (a)
Q462. How many members of the Rajya Sabha retire from the house every 2 years ?
(a) 1/6 of the total members
(b) 1/3 of the total members
(c) 1/12 of the total members
(d) 5/6 of the total members
Ans: (b)
Q463. What is the maximum strength prescribed for State Legislative Assemblies?
(a) 350 (b) 600
(c) 500 (d) 750
Ans: (c)
Q464. In India, the Residuary Powers are vested with
(a) Union Government
(b) State Government
(c) Both the Union Government and the State Government
(d) Local Government
Ans: (a)
Q465. Which one of the following methods is used to ascertain the public opinion on important legislation ?
(a) Initiative
(b) Recall
(c) Referendum
(d) None of the above
Ans: (a)
Q466. The voting age in India was lowered from 21 year to 18 years through
(a) Presidential ordinance.
(b) Constitutional Amendment.
(c) Executive Order.
(d) Parliamentary Legislation.
Ans: (b)
Q467. On the subjects mentioned in the concurrent list , laws may be enacted by the
(a) States and the Union
(b) Union alone
(c) States alone
(d) States and the Union territories
Ans: (a)
Q468. How many members of the Anglo-Indian community may be nominated by the President in the Lok Sabha?
(a) Four (b) Two
(c) Any number (d) Only one
Ans: (b)
Q469. The maximum number of nominated members to the Rajya Sabha are
(a) 10 (b) 12
(c) 14 (d) 15
Ans: (b)
Q470. A proclamation of emergency caused by war or external aggression must be approved by both the Houses of Parliament within
(a) 15 days (b) 1 month
(c) 2 months (d) 3 months
Ans: (b)
Q471. Education is included in which of the following lists?
(a) Central list
(b) State list
(c) Concurrent list
(d) Local list
Ans: (c)
Q472. The salary of the Members of Parliament is decided by
(a) The Parliament
(b) The Central Cabinet
(c) The President
(d) The Speaker
Ans: (a)
Q473. The Parliament enjoys the exclusive right to legislate on the subjects contained in
(a) the Union List
(b) the Concurrent List
(c) the State List
(d) Both (a) and (b)
Ans: (a)
Q474. The right to nominate members to the Rajya Sabha rests with
(a) The President
(b) The Vice President
(c) The Judiciary
(d) The Lok Sabha
Ans: (a)
Q475. The Speaker of the lok Sabha enjoys
(a) no right to vote in general circumstances
(b) the right to vote only in case of a tie
(c) the right to vote like other members of the House
(d) the right to vote only once during the term of the House
Ans: (b)
Q476. When the posts of both the President and the Vice President are vacant who among the following officiates as President?
(a) The Chief Justice of Supreme Court
(b) The Lt. Governor of Delhi
(c) The Speaker of Lok Sabha
(d) The Prime Minister
Ans: (a)
Q477. Money Bills can be introduced in the Lok Sabha with prior permission of the
(a) President (b) Prime Minister
(c) Speaker (d) Cabinet
Ans: (a)
Q478. A joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament may be convened to consider a bill which was passed by one House and kept pending by the other for
(a) four months (b) six months
(c) one year (d) two years
Ans: (b)
Q479. Which one of the following Vice-
President resigned from his office to contest for the office of the President ?
(a) Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
(b) V.V. Giri
(c) R. Venkataraman
(d) Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma
Ans: (b)
Q480. According to the Indian Constitution, the Ministers shall hold office during the pleasure of the
(a) President of India
(b) Prime Minister of India
(c) Parliament
(d) Supreme Court
Ans: (a)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

What is the status of the Right to Property now ?

Next Story

According to the Indian Constitution, the Ministers shall hold office during the pleasure of the

Latest from Blog